State of Play April 2021: How to Watch and What Games to Expect

Sony has announced that a new State of Play will be airing on April 29, 2021 that will give us a brand new look at PS5’s Ratchet & Clank: Rift Apart and updates on two upcoming indie games.

IGN is carrying the stream and, as usual, this watch guide will provide you with everything you need to know to watch the show, including when it starts, a list of places you can watch it with us, and what you can expect to see at the show.

[ignvideo url=”https://www.ign.com/videos/ratchet-clank-rift-apart-gameplay-trailer”]

PlayStation State of Play Start Time

The upcoming State of Play takes place on Thursday, April 29, and will start at 2pm PT, 5pm ET, 10pm BST. If you’re tuning in from Australia, that translates to Friday, April 30 at 7am AEST. It’s expected to contain “more than 15 minutes of fresh gameplay” for Ratchet & Clank: Rift Apart and updates on two upcoming indie games.

Where to Watch the PlayStation State of Play (April 2021)

If you’re interested in watching the upcoming State of Play, we’ll be hosting the stream here and across our many channels on platforms like YouTube, Twitch, Twitter, Facebook, and more. Here’s the full list of places you can watch the PlayStation State of Play:

[widget path=”global/article/imagegallery” parameters=”albumSlug=the-best-ps5-games&captions=true”]

What to Expect at the Upcoming PlayStation State of Play

This State of Play was announced alongside a short gameplay trailer for Ratchet & Clank: Rift Apart that introduced us to the game’s mysterious new female Lombax protagonist named Rivet. We will surely see more of her and other characters in the gameplay deep dive that will last for more than 15 minutes.

As for what the two upcoming indie games could be, they could be one of the games featured in the most recent State of Play from February 2021, including Kena: Bridge of Spirits, the Kung Fu-inspired Sifu, Heart Machine’s Solar Ash, or Five Nights at Freddy’s: Security Breach.

It’s also been a while since we’ve heard updates for Braid: Anniversary Edition, Jett: The Far Shore, Stray, or Goodbye Volcano High. Obviously, these games could always be surprises and something no one has heard of yet.

[poilib element=”accentDivider”]

Adam Bankhurst is a news writer for IGN. You can follow him on Twitter @AdamBankhurst and on Twitch.

bestgamesdirect
Login/Register access is temporary disabled